Lightly Steamed Kale with Tahini Sauce is My Latest Addiction

23 Oct

So, I’m imagining you’ve heard or read about the wonders of kale.  Much has been written in the last few years about it’s “power food” status and how it’s insanely good for you. It’s packed with Vitamins A & C, and is also rich in beta carotene, potassium, calcium, and phytonutrients that are believed to help fight cancer and repair cells.  I personally never ate kale before I became vegan, except maybe to add it to some soups occasionally.  So getting to know a new food and discovering tasty ways to prepare it has been a fun learning edge for me, especially when I land on a recipe that is so delightfully delicious, like the raw kale salad I posted about awhile back.  I never would have thought that I would end up craving kale on a daily basis.

This last week I went through my farmer’s market  kale stash faster than ever so I was determined to get plenty today.  I usually buy Dino (Lacinato) Kale or Curly Kale but today I bought Curly Kale, Russian Kale (which I’ve learned is a type of Curly Kale) and a new (to my taste buds) variety called White Russian Kale (a flat leaf variety).

                                                                          Curly Kale

                                                                          Russian Kale

                                                                          White Russian Kale

So, as I said in my post title, I’m lately addicted to lightly steamed kale with this Tahini Sauce from Vegan Coach.

Here’s some links to some other great kale recipe and resource blogs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

