Best Kale Salad Ever!

3 Oct

I’ve tried several raw kale salads before but this one is my absolute favorite thus far.  I was visiting my brother and his family in Lexington, Kentucky and had brought along a couple bunches of kale I had in my refrigerator (road trip!).  I was going to make a salad with a tahini dressing but it turns out my brother is not a fan.  He requested a dressing with a vinegar and oil base.  So, I searched on the web, (are we not incredibly lucky to have the internet to find such wonderful recipes and information to feed our creativity and curiosity?)  When I googled best kale salad ever, I was linked to a great vegetarian blogsite called Cookus Interruptus. This recipe calls for gorgonzola but absolutely does not need it at all, it’s so melt in your mouth delicious!  I had never heard of massaging the raw kale with salt before but it works beautifully.  The apples (I used honeycrisp, my favorite), golden raisins (instead of currants) and toasted sunflower seeds were a perfect combination with the simple olive oil and apple cider vinegar dressing.

What’s your favorite raw kale salad?  Did you know about massaging your raw kale with salt?

2 Responses to “Best Kale Salad Ever!”

  1. Micah Ludeke October 8, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    This is gorgeous!

    • Dana Gramprie October 9, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

      Thank you Micah. It’s become my new regular favorite. Do you have a favorite kale dish?

Leave a Reply

