Vegan Crab Cakes at Jazzy Veggie in Ann Arbor

13 Oct

My daughter and I went to Jazzy Veggie on Main Street to check out Ann Arbor’s first truly all vegan fare restaurant.  These Crab Cakes were our favorites.  They tasted just like crab and were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.  I used to eat real crab cakes before I went vegan in November 2009 and these little vegan gems were genuinely satisfying.  I will definitely be back to try them another time.

I’ve never made vegan crab cakes at home, have you?  I found this recipe for Chesapeake Tempeh Cakes at the Post Punk Kitchen.  In the short time I’ve been cooking vegan, I haven’t gone wrong with any food I’ve made that comes from Isa Chandra Moskowitz‘s cookbooks, including the fabulous Veganomicon and Appetite for Reduction.  This particular recipe is from Vegan Brunch.  Apparently, you make everything the day before and then cook it up to serve.  I think it’s time for a party!

Here’s the full menu from Jazzy Veggie to entice you.  As an added plus, it looks like they also deliver!

Hope you are enjoying the Vegan Month of Food!

2 Responses to “Vegan Crab Cakes at Jazzy Veggie in Ann Arbor”

  1. frugalfeeding October 13, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Delicious!

  2. Farrah P October 14, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Those look wonderful! I love crab cakes. Might have to try the PPK recipe this week!

Leave a Reply

