Ann Arbor’s Farmer’s Market: A Vegan’s Heaven

16 Oct

What do vegans eat?  Plants, not animals.  That’s how simple it is.  Veggies, fruits, beans, nuts, seeds, grains.  There is no shortage of ideas, recipes or creativity involved in crafting vegan fare.  I send out a huge appreciation to all the wonderful vegan cookbook writers, bloggers and chefs who have reignited my passion for cooking.  I am sparked daily to prepare delicious vegan food and share it with my family and friends.

So, where does an Ann Arbor vegan start?  At Ann Arbor’s Farmer’s Market, of course!  We have a busy market, fortunately, as many folks here want to support local farmers.  I head straight to the organic farm booths: Tantre Farms, Frog Holler Farms, Garden Works Farm and Renaissance Acres Farm.  The bounty is overflowing!  Collard greens, napa cabbage, kale, spinach, arugula, eggplant, kabocha squash, tomatoes, butternut squash, garlic, green beans, mint, sage, dill and salad greens!  Oh, and beeeauutiful dahlias!

The only question now is what do we feel like having for dinner tonight?

4 Responses to “Ann Arbor’s Farmer’s Market: A Vegan’s Heaven”

  1. vegansunshine October 17, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    This is the best time for markets. I love all of the squash, root vegetables, and apples! I love it! I think I’m eating about 3 apples a day. 🙂

    Whitney

    • Dana Gramprie October 17, 2011 at 2:39 am #

      honeycrisp!!!!!! Keeps the doctor away too!

  2. thefoodandwinehedonist October 17, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I love the Farmers’ Market – if I’m in town, I’m there. I’ve done some posts on the Market with recipes, too. Hope you stop by and check it out. I’m an unapologetic meat eater, but have been trying to do Meatless Mondays. I may steal some recipes and post them. Looking forward to seeing more! http://www.foodandwinehedonist.com

    • Dana Gramprie October 18, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      Hi there! Your rickrolling post was hysterical. Especially loved seeing Bill O’Reilly getting rickrolled! As to eating, Meatless Mondays are a great way to save some animals, the planet and your health! You can actually be a hedonist and be vegan!!!!!! Take care

Leave a Reply

