Sweet Potato Fries with Spicy Dipping Sauce

17 Oct

Every time we go to Seva for dinner, my family finds it irresistible to pass up the yam fries appetizer.  They are served with a mildly spicy dipping sauce that we all want to lick right out of the bowl.  I asked the server what was in it and wouldn’t you know, mayonnaise(of course) and Clancy’s Fancy Sauce, made right here in Ann Arbor.  Unfortunately, even though Seva is a vegetarian restaurant with many vegan options, they don’t offer a vegan option for this particular dip.  When I asked for a vegan dip, they gave me salsa!  Definitely not the same!

So, of course, now I make these at home, with the dip veganized using Veganaise (my favorite vegan mayo).  These are a family favorite!  Everyone loves them and there are never any left over.  Just by themselves they are delicious but with the dipping sauce, they are over the top for us.

While writing this post, I went to the company’s website and found that the sauce contains honey!  I didn’t know that, I hadn’t read the ingredients because I assumed it was vegan.  (You know what they say about assuming!)  I then found myself wondering about why honey is not vegan.  It’s something I’ve wondered about and had never gotten around to researching.

So, I mistakenly used a non-vegan ingredient last night, but now I know.  I’d love to create a sauce like Clancy’s Fancy that uses agave instead of honey.  Either that, or I will look for a substitute sweet and spicy vegan sauce to mix with my Vegenaise!

2 Responses to “Sweet Potato Fries with Spicy Dipping Sauce”

  1. Kevin April 6, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    Thanks for the blog. I’ll start reading more often. I found you looking for the Seva dipping sauce 🙂

    An idea for the sweet and spicy are Syrian Red Peppers(Aleppo) available at Jerusalem International Market on Plymouth. Grind finer and add to your veganaise.

    The main thrust of Clancy’s is the citrus, garlic and ginger. I have made this at home and it would be easy to use agave in this. Use some Syrian Reds and aged cayenne for a robust pepper boost.

    Have fun!

    • Dana Gramprie April 9, 2012 at 1:03 am #

      Thanks for the suggestions, Kevin. Did you make a sauce like Clancys at home? If so will you share your recipe?

      I’ll look for the Syrian red peppers.

      Dana

Leave a Reply

