Pumpkin Spice Muffins

19 Oct

All these delicious Vegan MoFo posts about pumpkin recipes made me orange with desire. I had good reasons to give in and make some pumpkin spice muffins (as if I need a “good” reason).  My husband loves pumpkin (pumpkin pie is always his preferred birthday cake!) and  my daughter is coming home for a long weekend tomorrow and bringing four new college friends.  So, I figure they will want to eat some sumptuous homemade food that is better than what they are getting at the school cafeteria.  What better than muffins that are healthy and sweet and savory all at once?

Since I have yet to go wrong using my Babycakes Cookbook by Erin McKenna, I used it yet again.  It’s wonderful to have a reliably tasty vegan baking resource like this.

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free, All-Purpose Baking Flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon xanthum gum

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon ground ginger

1/2 cup coconut oil, plus more for the pan (I was a little short of coconut oil so topped it off with organic canola, plus I sprayed the muffin tins with this also)

2/3 cup agave nectar

2/3 cup rice milk

2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups canned unsweetened pumpkin puree (I used Trader Joe’s Organic pumpkin)

1/2 cup hot water

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

2. Whisk together all the dry ingredients.

3. Add all the wet ingredients and stir until the batter is smooth and thick.

4. Fold in the pumpkin and hot water until evenly distributed throughout the batter.

5. Use 1/3 cup measuring cup to fill greased muffin cup.  (I filled it to the top to get big muffin tops).

6. Bake on center rack for 22 minutes, rotating the muffin tin after 10 minutes.

7. The finished muffins will be springy and soft and a toothpick inserted will come clean.

8. Let stand in tin f or 15 minutes before placing on a cooling rack to cool completely.

9. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

