Carrot and Tahini Soup

22 Oct

This recipe is adapted from one posted in the New York Times Dining and Wine Section.  It calls for leeks which I didn’t have so I substituted a chopped sweet onion.  It also called for fresh cilantro or mint for garnishing but I was fresh out of mint and my husband thinks cilantro tastes like burnt rubber.  I often just substitute fresh parsley but this time I let the turmeric and coriander and fresh carrots speak for themselves.  The tahini and lemon juice increased the depth and mellowness.  My dear husband said “This is the kind of soup I would eat whether or not I was hungry.  Don’t know if that’s good or bad.”  All I can say is yum!

Those cute little puffy things pictured in the soup are pita crisps made with whole wheat mini pita rounds.  They sort of look like donuts to me in this picture.  Speaks to my skills or lack thereof in food photography!  Or maybe donuts in your carrot soup sound appealing?

3 Responses to “Carrot and Tahini Soup”

  1. Savory Simple October 22, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    I’ve never used tahini in anything other than hummus. This sounds really good!

    • Dana Gramprie October 22, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      I just read your nice posts on salads. The tahini sauce in my post makes a great dressing for a hearty salad, too. I’ve become the wonderful salad person in my family, too. And you’re right, the color and texture and flavor variety really makes the salad special. And then of course, there’s the dressing…….

      • Dana Gramprie October 22, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

        Oops! The tahini sauce I referred to in my comment is from the post I’m working on for tomorrow. Check back. It’s sooo good!

Leave a Reply

