Vegan Fare at the Jolly Pumpkin

26 Oct

I was walking around downtown Ann Arbor last week on my assignment from VegMichigan to help update their website of Ann Arbor Restaurants with vegan fare.  I passed by the Jolly Pumpkin and was delighted to notice several vegan options on their menu including a vegan chocolate cake!  So, of course, I invited my dear husband out to dinner last Saturday night, our long-standing date night.  We hadn’t been to the Jolly Pumpkin for many months and only a handful of times since their opening in September of 2009.  It was hopping busy at 8:30 when we arrived so we hovered near the bar hoping for a couple of bar stools to open up.  About 15 minutes later we had prime seats and were happy to see the television sets at the bar tuned to the MSU vs Wisconsin game.  I don’t follow football much but my husband let me know these were two of the best teams to watch.  If you missed this game, try to find the highlights.  It was amazing!

Anyway, back to the food!  I was feeling like a sandwich so after my husband ordered the Truffled French Fries for his appetizer, I ordered the Red Thai Tofu sandwich.  I subbed out the fries for a nice green salad instead.  It was all so delicious!  The grilled bread was a bit too oily but otherwise I loved the flavors and texture of this sandwich. It also came with a pickled zucchini wedge that was a surprise treat.  Forgive the picture above as it does the fabulous taste an injustice.  I also had a Oro de Calabaza, the Belgian-style ale the New York Times had voted their number one favorite in February 2010.  It was yummy and refreshing with a luscious citrus taste.

Other options on the menu for vegans included an appetizer of Grilled flatbread with Three Spreads.  They also had a Smoked Tofu Salad and an Asian Layered Salad.   Several of the items seem like they could be easily veganized by leaving off the cheese, including the pizzas.  I was too full to try the Vegan Chocolate Cake, which it turns out seems to be provided by Avalon International Bakery in Detroit.  I will definitely be back again soon and be sure to save some room in my belly!  Check out the Jolly Pumpkin’s menu here.

3 Responses to “Vegan Fare at the Jolly Pumpkin”

  1. vegansunshine October 27, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    I should have read the VegMichigan newsletter, I would have gone! Sounds like my kind of party.

    Whitney

  2. Whit January 8, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    Hi, I just found your blog and thought I would note for your readers: if you ask, the kitchen at Jolly Pumpkin will tell you that the soy cheese is vegan – it is actually NOT, it’s just lactose free. It still contains casein!

    • Dana Gramprie January 9, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

      Thanks for the info, Whit! I had no idea. Do you have inside information? I appreciate you for cueing me and my readers in!

Leave a Reply

