African Sweet Potato and Peanut Stew

14 Dec

I’m so happy being vegan!  I love all the food I make and eat while feeling so aligned with my values of respect for all life and doing no harm if possible.  And it is so possible, by simply eating incredibly delicious vegan food.  My husband is about 80-90% vegan since I only prepare vegan food at home but will sometimes eat as an omnivore when travelling or eating out. Oh yeah, he still eats sardines for an evening snack sometimes,too!  Time and time again, though, he loves and prefers my vegan food to any dish containing animals.

He was craving spaghetti and meatballs, but since I didn’t have any meatballs I made spaghetti with a meaty sauce.   I threw something together quickly since I was up to my elbows in baking Christmas cookies. I used Trader Joe’s extra fiber spaghetti, Muir Glen tomato and basil sauce and Gimme Lean sausage.  It was so delicious.  I kept the sausage kind of chunky for big satisfying bites like I know he likes.  I loved it too.  I usually love Rao’s marinara sauce as my go to jarred sauce but I’ve been trying to use lower fat ingredients and this worked well.

The next day I made this African Sweet Potato and Peanut Stew.  I borrowed The 30-Day Vegan Challenge from the library and was skimming through it and found this.  I know I am repeating myself but vegan food is so good!  We’ve been eating this served over quinoa for several days since it makes a large amount and the flavors just continue to get better.  You’ve got to try it!

What are you making these days that you love to eat?

Leave a Reply

