Transitioning to Vegan-Kale Butter

8 Jan

Having good recipes to prepare with whole foods makes transitioning to vegan much easier.  This recipe is another one of my favorite uses for the wonderful fresh kale from the Farmer’s Market.  I know I don’t have many more weeks to get local fresh kale but as long as I can I’ll be making this up!

It’s from The Engine 2 Diet by Rip Esselstyn and is simple and delicious.  I like to spread it on a piece of whole wheat toast for breakfast, on a wrap with other veggies for lunch or on some crackers for a healthy snack.  You can also use it as a veggie dip. Yummy!

Kale Butter

1 bunch of kale, rinsed and chopped

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup water

Salt to taste

Process ingredients in a food processor until creamy.

Optional ingredients that I’ve added: nutritional yeast, freshly ground black pepper

So simple, so green, so fresh, so delicious.

Leave a Reply

