Beautiful Emerald Green Juice

5 Oct

I feel my diet is pretty healthy. After all, I don’t eat any animals or animal products!  Yet, there is always room for improvement.   I’ve decided to kick my health up another notch by changing a few things.  Best of all, I’ve been starting my days with beautiful and tasty, emerald-green juice!  Yum!  My daily mix is made from 5-6 leaves of Dino kale, 5-6 leaves of romaine, 1 cucumber, 4 celery stalks, a 2-3 inch piece of ginger and 1-2 pears or apples.  I might add a broccoli stalk if I have it.  Trust me, it’s so good.

I waited a long time before I splurged for a juicer.  I wanted to be sure that I was committed to using it on a regular basis and not have it be an expensive counter decoration.  This is the one I bought on a recommendation from Kris Carr.  I love it!  I haven’t yet convinced my husband to try more than a tiny sip although I still have hope.  What is it about green juice that makes people cringe?  I guess that used to be me also, before I actually tasted it.  I thought it was going to taste bitter, like liquid greens.  Perhaps if I didn’t add the ginger and the apples it might be bitter and I might be holding my nose, too!  This stuff is so good, though, that my 19 and 22 year old daughters will drink it, and trust me, their diet is not always very healthy!

So, why am I doing this?  Check out these posts for a thorough discussion.

This is what Kris Carr says: “Chlorophyll contains a powerful blood builder that’s said to increase red blood cells, improve circulation, ease inflammation, oxygenate the body, and counteract harmful free radicals. By eating (and drinking) a diet high in chlorophyll (raw fruits and veggies, especially leafy greens), we dine on liquid oxygen, the very substance we need to stay alive and thrive”.

It’s true and I’m feeling it.  I’m more energetic, vibrant and clear headed.  I never would have thought 5 years ago that today I would be vegan and drinking green juice every day.  Just confirms the idea that we just don’t know the future even though we may be absolutely convinced we do.

Try the juice.  Trust me. You won’t have to hold your nose, I promise!

5 Responses to “Beautiful Emerald Green Juice”

  1. Debbie October 7, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Really inspiring post! I also juice but not as much as I should. Right now my passion is green smoothies. Unlike a juice, the smoothie retains all the pulp. However, a juice increases the amount of veggies by an incredible amount. I am keeping both in my diet.

    • Dana Gramprie October 7, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Hi Debbie,
      Nice to meet you. I looked at your blog goingvegan.net and was so heartwarmed by all the wonderful resources you have there for folks wanting to live a more compassionate life. Thanks for reading my blog and commenting. When it comes to green smoothies, I have a should. I just never feel like that drinking that much bulk in a glass. I used to make them more when my kids were around, so we could share the batch. I can drink them in small amounts but I find it hard to make a small batch of smoothies for just myself. As I listen to myself, I realize this would not be difficult to accomplish if I really wanted to. Thanks for the inspiration to do both!

  2. dorian divita October 7, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    I started juicing about 20 yrs ago but never seem to have the time anymore( maybe this will inspire me xoxox Hope all is well w U thanks cous

    ________________________________

    • Dana Gramprie October 7, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

      Thanks for reading my post, dear Cuz! Hope all is well with you! Send me an email and let me know what you’re up to. Love to you

  3. Alec Tritton November 8, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    If you want to juice leafy green vegetables, roll them together in a ball before placing them in the juicer chute. Follow with vegetables that are more firm. You should alternate between the leafy and firm vegetables if you are making a large quantity.

Leave a Reply

