Nikki’s Healthy (and oh so delicious) Cookie Recipe

29 Oct

Well, I guess I just wasn’t meant to post 20 times this month for Vegan MoFo.  I had the flu and then a week later, benign positional vertigo.  Both of these forced me to lay still, cancel my days and breathe through it with hopes it wouldn’t last long.  Neither malady lasted longer than a week, but that’s a long time and lot’s of posting days missed!

Heidi Swanson writes at 101cookbooks.com  and she is one of the blogs I follow on a regular basis. She’s also written cookbooks, is a fabulous photographer and world traveler.  She’s not vegan but primarily vegetarian and posts many plant based recipes.   These cookies looked so delicious I had to make them.  Unfortunately, my camera failed me so I have no picture.  Check out Heidi’s picture here.  You know how sometimes things look way better than they taste?  Not these.  They are so yummy.  My husband and I have been rationing them over the last week to make them last.  I think I may be making another batch very soon.  These are definitely a winner!

Nikki’s Healthy Cookie Recipe

3 large, ripe bananas, well mashed (about 1 1/2 cups)

1  teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup coconut oil, barely warm-so it’s liquid

2 cups rolled oats

2/3 cup almond meal

1/3 cup coconut, finely shredded and unsweetened

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

6-7 ounces chocolate chips or dark chocolate bar chopped

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, racks in the top third.

In a large bowl, combine the bananas, vanilla extract, and coconut oil.  Set aside.  In another bowl whisk together the oats, almond meal, shredded coconut, cinnamon, salt, and baking powder.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips.  The dough is a bit looser than standard cookie dough.  Drop dollops of the dough, each about 2 teaspoons in size onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake for 12-14 minutes.  Bake as long as possible without burning the bottoms.

Makes about 3 dozen bite-sized cookies.

Leave a Reply

