Vegan MoFo 2016!!! Pineapple Not-So-Fried Rice!

3 Nov

Hi all!  Welcome to the Vegan Month of Food (MoFo) 2016!  This is the event when vegan food bloggers from all over the world post on their blogs as many days as possible for the whole month.  Check out all the other bloggers posting an amazing variety of plant-based deliciousness!

As you  can see,  I’m a few days late in my first post but that’s okay.  I plan to be quite kind to myself as I participate in this years blogfest.  In the past, I’ve made myself a little nuts thinking I had to post every single day or I just wasn’t doing it “right”.  This year, I plan to share some great vegan food and recipes as much as it works for me throughout November and have fun doing it.  No pressure.  Ahhh…  I hope you enjoy and get some good ideas!

Two nights ago, I made a delicious recipe from Chef Chloe Coscarelli’s  first cookbook, Choe’s Kitchen.  It’s called Pineapple Not-So-Fried Rice and it was so delicious!  The pineapple is such a nice sweet counterpart to the curry spiced rice and crunchy cashews.

img_1036

I made a few changes to the recipe….She called for tossing the tofu cubes with soy sauce and baking.  I decided I wanted a more interesting marinade for the tofu and found one in Terry Hope Romero’s cookbook Salad Samurai.

img_1035

This Red-Hot Saucy Tofu was fantastic and added a spicy complexity to the final dish.  I will definitely use this marinade for other things…I can imagine cauliflower roasted in this red hot goodness.

Lastly, Chef Chloe’s recipe did not call for roasting the cashews before adding them to the dish but I would highly recommend it.  This keeps them crunchy in the stir fry process.

This recipe makes a large amount.  Good for 8-10 servings.

 

8 Responses to “Vegan MoFo 2016!!! Pineapple Not-So-Fried Rice!”

  1. KZCakes November 4, 2016 at 1:30 am #

    I love Chloe’s recipes! Especially her Italian cookbook. Have you been to her restaurant? It’s obviously amazing!! Also love Salad Samurai! Looks like you have good taste 🙂

    • Dana Gramprie November 4, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

      I actually have her Italian cookbook and haven’t made anything out of it yet! Recommendations?
      Yes, I love her restaurant in NYC SoHo and have been several times. Love the lines out the door every time!

  2. Little Vegan Bear November 4, 2016 at 4:16 am #

    Happy MoFo! I’m much the same – I almost didn’t participate this year because of how stressed I got about posting every day in the past couple. This time I’m just doing what I can do – it’s all good! 🙂 Love the sound of pineapple in the not so fried rice, and I reckon the change to red-hot saucy tofu was a good move – sounds like a flavour bomb!

    • Dana Gramprie November 4, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

      It was so so good! I’m going to check out your blog right now….all doing what we can, right? I’m keeping mine short and breezy. Take care!

    • Dana Gramprie November 4, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

      I just looked at your blog….it’s beautiful! Your photos are fantastic and your writing flows. So glad you reached out, I’ll check back on your posts!

  3. juliemokrzycki November 7, 2016 at 11:58 pm #

    Your pineapple rice looks great; it sounds like the modifications you made to the recipe worked really well! 🙂

  4. patrick @alldayieat.com November 8, 2016 at 2:29 am #

    sounds deeeelicious!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan MOFO Day 4 – Savoury sugarbeet salad | Herzhafter Zuckerrübensalat – VGNGF = vegan, glutenfree, delicious. - November 3, 2016

    […] / veganknyquol Post about preserving citrus / 84acres Pineapple Not-So-Fried Rice / annarborvegan Choc dipped Peanut Butter Cookies / mydarlingvegan Haferwurzel im Kräuter-Hirsotto-Bett / […]

Leave a Reply

